Cheesy Quinoa Cakes – recipe

I am at it again! Taking recipes I find online and changing them up just a bit to create something even better! This time around it is a cheesy quinoa patti recipe from Spoon Fork Bacon.

This was my first time using quinoa, and I was so excited I could hardly wait to taste them. Quinoa is so yummy, and so good for you! It is awesome cooked as is, but mold it into little cakes and fry them until they are golden; it develops this rich nutty flavour that is to die for!

Here is what I did with this recipe:

Sneaking in some extra veggies! Diced red pepper and mushrooms.

Ingredients:
2 cups cooked quinoa
2/3 cup grated parmesan cheese
3 tablespoons all purpose flour
1/2 a red pepper diced

5 button mushrooms diced
1 egg, lightly beaten
2 teaspoons freshly ground black pepper
2 ½ tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
salt to taste

Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl, and let sit for a few minutes. Heat the olive oil, shape 1/4 cup of the mixture into a patti, and fry for about 5 minutes per side, over medium heat.

Frying them up! I think I needed an extra egg in my mixture; it was a little dry and some fell apart…

I did serve these with the garlic aioli she mentions, which I could just eat by the spoonful, it is so delicious!

Such a frugal meal too! I bought a box of PC Organic quinoa, that was $2.99, but I am sure you can get it cheaper. I already had the red pepper and mushrooms left over from another meal, so those don’t count ;). As for all the other ingredients; they are staples in our house too, and are always on hand! Super healthy, super yummy dinner that we all enjoyed; yes even the toddler was willing to try a little bit.

Now I have a new food obsession, and a healthy one at that. Do you have a favourite way to prepare quinoa? I would love to hear about some other ways to eat it.

This is not the best plate to take a picture of food on, but you get the idea :) YUM!

About Mo

A Catholic. A wife. A mom of two, and a writer. Trying to live a healthy life on a tight budget, without being a slave to coupons.

Posted on August 21, 2012, in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 415 other followers

